Movement: 6DOF (surge, sway, heave, roll, pitch, yaw)

Six degrees of freedom is a specific parameter count for the number of degrees of freedom an object has in three-dimensional space, such as the real world. It means that there are six parameters or ways that the body can move.

Six degrees of freedom consists of the following movement parameters:

  • Translation – Moving along the different axes X, Y and Z
    • Moving up and down along the Y axis is called heaving.
    • Moving forwards and backwards along the X axis is called surging.
    • Moving left and right along the Z axis is called swaying.
  • Rotation – Turning in order to face a different axis
    • Moving between X and Y is called pitch.
    • Moving between X and Z is called yaw.
    • Moving between Z and Y is called roll.